Sluggish Cycle?

jessatiel

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi! I’m brand new to proper fish-keeping, and I’m 5weeks into fishless cycling my first 20 gallon tank (using Dr.Tim’s ammonia) and I’m a little confused about my water test results, and whether high nitrites are really a problem (I’ve seen both emphatic “yeses”, and “nos”). I have hard water that’s between 7.6-8 Ph.

Per Dr.Tim’s Instructions, I dosed ammonia to 4ppm, and waited for it to drop under 1ppm before re-dosing back up to 4ppm. I’m now seeing nitrites off the scale, and nitrates that were climbing, last testing at about 30ppm.

At that point, two days ago, I did a 50% WC (I dechlorinated, and kept temp similar). That dropped the nitrite to 1ppm. I dosed the ammonia back up. By the next day, nitrites were sky-high again.

Two questions:
1: given that I’m seeing nitrites and nitrates, I think the cycle must be cranking up. However, the ammonia doesn’t fall very **fast**. It seems on track to fall from 4ppm to under 1 ppm in about 4 days... not 24 hrs like I need for a fully cycled tank. Will this ammo process speed up on its own, or am I doing something wrong?

2: what’s the word on high nitrites? I’ve seen folks on this board say they’ll stall a cycle. But I’ve also seen convincing-seeming arguments that nitrites aren’t the problem, and it’s really the ph crash or de-mineralization that could follow high nitrites that would stall it. I have very hard water that’s just under a ph of 8. Am I ok? Doing 50% WC *every day* isn’t something I want to do unless absolutely necessary.

Thank you for your time!

Other info:
-20 gallon tank
-Marineland penguin 150 filter (bio wheel)
-airstone bubbler
-73-76 F temp.
-GH 60, KH 80, per test strips
-other tests are from API master kit
-Dr. Tim’s ammonia.
-unfortunately, no seeding material available
-API dechlorinator.

jessatiel

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
AquaticJ said: