Slow-building Family Room Tank (55g)

Discussion in 'Freshwater Aquarium Builds' started by AJ6817, Jun 25, 2018.

1. AJ6817

AJ6817 New Member Member

So I am quite new to freshwater fish and have recently been doing a lot of research on what I would like to do with our tank.
    This tank used to be a saltwater tank but I am going to clean everything out and remake it into a freshwater tank. It will sit in a corner of the room at an angle (not sure if too much sunlight will get in that area though, but i can always just cover it during the day when no one is around to look at them anyways) It has a black background already.
    I have a Fluval 305 canister filter which i need to look more into which types of filtering products I want to use in it, but I still have time before all that.
    Since I have well water, we usually go and buy the giant jugs of water from a wholesale store to fill it and do the water changes. But I was reading that my well water may possibly be used as long as it isn't too bad chemical-wise. Going to test it out today.

Anyways here is my plan:
    Probably a organic soil as substrate (I saw you can put fertilizer tabs in it but I'm not sure how I feel about that)
    One of those man-made bonsai trees as either the center piece or have that as one side and maybe some sort of large rock formation on the other side. Going to go to a landscape supply place sometime this week to see what kind of rocks i can find for cheap.
    The "leaves" of the tree will be anubias petite since they look realistic and nice.
    Along with these I would like to have a nice carpet of dwarf hairgrass throughout most of the tank.
    I am a big fan of the java ferns so i will definitely be using that in the background but don't want to overdo it at the same time.
    I still need to find a couple small mid-ground plants that I like and possibly some variety for the background.