Six gallon question. :)

dogstar

Reaction score
Hello! I'm a complete newbie when it comes to fish tanks. I wanted to start off with a small six gallon one.. I did go to Petco and a young boy there helped me out with some information. It's been about three weeks now and as a total I have three serpae, one Red Wag Platy, I had another but he didn't make it..

My pH level is about 7.0 at this point and I just did a water change yesterday.

http://s2.photobucket.com/albums/y7/speedymcpants/?action=view&current=P9170062.jpg

There's my lil tank.

Anyway my problem is, the person at Petco told me having that many fish in my Six gallon was perfectly alright but the more I read up on them the more i'm getting a little worried. Should I try and upgrade to a Ten gallon one? Even when I went there they were sort of pushing me to buy another. And I would rather have another Red Wag for my Nicky.. he seems a little down. Always sticks to the top of the tank and just sorta floats there.

Any opinions?

Comments would be appreciated! And be gentle! Eep. >.O

Boxermom

Valued Member
Reaction score
Platies and tetras like to be in groups, the more the merrier. And they like to have room to swim around. I'd definitely recommend getting a larger tank and adding a few more. You could get a solo type fish for your six gallon, something like a betta.

Just as an fyi, clerks at pet stores like Petco, Petsmart, etc., very rarely have any clue what they are talking about so take any advice they give with a grain of salt. If he'd had a clue, you wouldn't currently have any fish as your tank would still be cycling (unless you got some BioSpira which Petco doesn't seem to carry).

dogstar

Reaction score
Dang, I knew it. I did actually want to upgrade anyway but now i'll have to wait until I can save up a little more cash PLUS do the cycling which takes quite a bit longer then the person told me originally heh.