Simplest Tank Setup For A Newbie?!

danelch

Valued Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone. As you'd have known by now that I'm a newbie who's had experience in the freshwater field BUT ABSOLUTELY NONE in the saltwater type :/

Anyway my LFS has recently brought these clownfish that I've totally fallen in love with <3 i want em so bad but 1)idk a lot about setting up a saltwater tank
2) i don't have a lot of cash these days cuz I've been and still am spending tons of it on my freshwater tanks and whatnot

Now i intend to make a clownfish tank as simple as possible.

My question is :
What equipment (minimum) do I need to buy to do that(keep a healthy pair of clownfish)??
I want the tank to be something like these breeder tanks in the link below. (I'd love to breed them too like in the link, if you guys think i could pull it off considering that i don't have a lot of knowledge atm)

Your answers and guidance would mean a lot! Thanks in advance. Cheers

smee82

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Honestly for me the word minimum and salt water dont go together. Considering the prices of equipment and livestock id much rather tank longer to save more money to buy better equipment later on down the track.

That said i think the only extra piece of equipment you definitely need compared to a fs tank is a skimmer.

danelch

Valued Member
Reaction score
Honestly for me the word minimum and salt water dont go together. Considering the prices of equipment and livestock id much rather tank longer to save more money to buy better equipment later on down the track.

That said i think the only extra piece of equipment you definitely need compared to a fs tank is a skimmer.
So umm live rock and/or sand aren't a compulsion in a tank which i intend to keep only fish in?

grantm91

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
4 years