silver molly swimming head down, bent body

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mrs. T

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I have a silver molly that is acting really weird. Note, I'm new at this; I've had first fish tank since June, and I've had the Molly since September. A few days ago the molly started swimming head down and with a bent body. Once in a while, it swims normally, but most of the time it is in this position. It appears weak as well. We think it looks like it's dying, but it's hanging in there. Sometimes it even seems to have a burst of energy for no apparent reason, and acts almost normal for a short time. What is wrong with it, and how can I help it? Thank you.

AlexAlex

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Good evening, Mrs. T - And welcome to FishLore...

From what I have seen of your profile, you haven't filled out the "About Me", which lists your tanks, what fish are in them, and if you know about the nitrogen cycle. If not, I'd suggest reading it, which is vital on the health of your tank(s) and fish. Just click on the underlined and it will guide you to it.

It sounds like to me that your Molly is suffering either from some sort of seizure or it's a nitrate spike.

I am not sure if you are aware of the testing kits. Do NOT use any strip tests as those are horribly inaccurate and will give you the same or similar readings each time. I'd purchase the API Testing Kits.

Mollies, too, like a brackish water. I have a few mollies and when I do my 30-50% water changes once a week, I put a tablespoon of salt per each 5 Gallons of water in the tank. On top of that, if you have any that may have parasites, the salt will help kill them.

As noted above, I'd fill out your "About Me" on your profile completely so we can better assist the issues you are having.