Sick Shrimp? See Photos.

Discussion in 'Cherry Shrimp' started by TommyD11730, Feb 11, 2019.

1. TommyD11730Valued MemberMember

Complete shrimp novice here.

Got 25 cherry shrimp a couple of weeks ago. They seem to be molting and growing like weeds. Then I notice this guy. If this a failed/partial shed? The yellowish looking thing on his back is my concern.

Shrimp seems fine otherwise doing "shrimp stuff". :)

Thanks guys!

Attached Files:

2. JtheFishManValued MemberMember

I doubt it.

From these images, these just seem like saddles on your female shrimp. This is a great thing. A saddle on a shrimp is basically just a representation of developing eggs in the female. If your female shrimp has a saddle, that means that she is now sexually mature, and that she is growing properly.

If anything, this is a sign that she is very healthy and molting just fine.

3. DreaminginBlueValued MemberMember

Agreed! Looks like a saddled female. Congratulations!

4. TommyD11730Valued MemberMember

Thank you sir for the education.
    I come from the fish world, where bumps and "growths" on your buddies are a bad thing.

5. JtheFishManValued MemberMember

F.Y.I.

The saddle usually fades away when the female becomes pregnant. So, if the saddle fades away, expect eggs on the female pretty soon!

6. TommyD11730Valued MemberMember

Are they like live bearers? Meaning they spawn once and are fertile 4 life.

7. -Mak-Fishlore VIPMember

No, but once a female molts the males will smell it and go looking for her, so reproduction is usually always going on :)

8. richie.pWell Known MemberMember

Yep I agree with all above

9. DreaminginBlueValued MemberMember