Dismiss Notice
Hi there! You are currently viewing the forum as a guest. To log in, go here.

To become a member please register here.

Sick Guppy Help

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by rmh105, Apr 18, 2019.

1. rmh105New MemberMember

Hey everyone. I am new to the whole fish keeping and forum thing but i figured this was the best way to get some advice.

A few months ago, I helped a friend set up a 10 gal fish tank. I told him about how to fishless cycle it and everything. He, however, was stupid and got a few guppies to cycle his tank. Two of them survived. Fast forward to a few days ago: I just set up a 5 gal in the hopes of getting a betta when it cycled. I have a filter (sponge, rated for 10 gal) and gravel and all the necessary stuff (including 3 live plants). However, my idiot friend decided to bring me his guppies knowing that my tank isn't yet cycled. He wouldn't take them back and I don't know anyone else that will take them.

This brings me to my question: Are my guppies going to die or is there anything I can do to save them? I have only had them for 24 hours now but I am attached to them.

I found this question thing I will try to fill out to help:

Tank

What is the water volume of the tank? 5 gallons
    How long has the tank been running? -Like 3 days?
    Does it have a filter? -Yes. Sponge rated for 10 gallon
    Does it have a heater? -Yes
    What is the water temperature? -78 degrees F
    What is the entire stocking of this tank? (Please list all fish and inverts.) -Two guppies of unknown variety

Maintenance
    How often do you change the water? -I haven't yet but I plan to weekly
    How much of the water do you change? -Haven't yet but plan to 10-15%
    What do you use to treat your water? -Aqualife Complete Water Conditioner
    Do you vacuum the substrate or just the water? -water

*Parameters - Very Important
    Did you cycle your tank before adding fish? -No (I realize this is more than likely the problem)