Sick goldfish

Discussion in 'Goldfish' started by bellachan, Jul 12, 2015.

1. b

bellachan Well Known Member Member

Hey guys! Sorry to bombard you with goldfish stuff! I need some help. I noticed it the very next morning I got my Orandas. Their wen (brains) started to get white specks on them. Looks like fluffy pimples. At first I thought it was ich? But wouldn't you see that on the fins? One of the orandas even has a strand like thing hanging from it's wen. Please help! All i've done so far before medicating a small water change and added salt.

image.jpg

So hard to get a quick clear pic! Hope you can see what mean on the top of it's head

2. LiterallyHydro

LiterallyHydro Well Known Member Member

Sorry to hear that your goldfish aren't doing well.

While I can't identify what the problem is (I'm not very good with fish disease) I think it would help if you can update us with your full water parameters so we can know what's up with the water.

pH
    Ammonia
    Nitrite
    Nitrate
    Temperature
    Hardness if available.

3. OP
    OP
    b

I've read up on some things. Could be wen growth or fungal infection.

Oh sorry keep forgetting to add the parameters lol.

Ph is 7.2
    Ammonia bounced up a little since I got them (from no fish to the tank, to 4 large orandas. I've been doing daily small water changes). So yesterday it was at 0.25 and today is like between 0-0.25ppm
    Nitrite reads 0ppm
    Nitrate looks in between 0-5ppm

In regards to their behaviour, they are active, they eat and they don't seem to be irritated by the stuff on their wen.

Oh there are 4, in a 75gallon tank. The temp was raised to 78 (very slowly) because my first concern was ich, (I have read that goldfish can actually tollerate high temps but like to hybernate). But now that I don't think it's ich, and if you guys agree I will slowly bring down the temp.

KH 40
    GH between 10-30 (only have the test strips for KH and GH)

4. LiterallyHydro