Sick Fish?

1. Ashnick05 Initiate Member

Hi there,

I'm fairly new to caring for a larger tank. I inherited a 29 galleon tank from my parents, and had it set up for a week before getting any fish. Everything in the tank was cleaned prior to set up, I used only water and a brand new sponge. I reused the gravel from my parents, as well as two figurines. I purchased new plants and a new 'main' figurines, all of which were rinsed in warm water before going into the tank as per the package instructions. I replaced the filter pads as well. I got the fish (2 black mollies, 2 Dalmatian mollies, 2 fancy guppies and 2 gouarmis) on Saturday of last week (July 15). Fish are being fed tropical flakes twice a day. When I went to work this morning all was fine in the tank. However when I came home from work, my male fancy guppy had passed, and one of my black mollies seems to be struggling to get off the bottom of the tank. The others seem to be okay, the female guppy stays at the top of the tank, and has since we put her in really. One of my gouarmis (silver one with two black spots) seems to be hiding closer to the bottom of the tank. It seemed to be a bit aggressive towards the orange gouarmi this morning, following her and 'pecking' at her.

Can someone tell me if there's something to be concerned of with the black molly?? Currently the other black molly is hanging out by the heater, not really moving around the tank.
  2. Aquaphobia Fishlore Legend Member

Hi and welcome to the forum!

I recommend that you read up on the nitrogen cycle because your fish are going to need help to ride out the toxins formed until the necessary bacteria grow enough to take care of all the fish's wastes. Do you have Prime or another water conditioner?