Help Sick Cory

LisaB

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Please help - I'm sorry to come on here as a complete novice but my husband is at soccer training and his bronze cory is sick - very lethergic and tipping onto its side. Any advice? My husband has all the normal range of tests - what should I check for? The other fish (panda cory and cloud minnows) look fine and to my knowledge the bronze was fine this morning. Please help. Sorry I can't provide any of the other info you might need.

Tigerfishy

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Welcome!

First of all you should check for the basics, Ammonia, Nitrite & Nitrate. If the tests come back as 0, 0 & 5-20 respectively, we can rule out water issues. I am by no means a bronze cory expert, but these tests are the first step in helping us all help you out, and the first any of us would ask of you if that's OK!

Rhan

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi Lisa, Welcome to Fishlore!

I'm sorry that the cory is sick, they are such sweet little fish

Unfortunetly, we really do need more information. Just answer what questions you can and hopefully it can be worked out

Is the testkit made up of liquid tests, not strips?
What are the Ammonia, Nitrite and Nitrate levels?

Ammonia and Nitrite should always be zero, while nitrates should be roughly between 5-20.

What size is the tank?

I would do a water change, just to see if it perks him up. Remember to use a dechlorinator and to add water that is approx. the same temp as that already in the tank.

I can't really offer much more, but someone else may be able to help you further

Rhan

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Yes, test first. Make sure you follow the instructions carefully.

let us know how you go

LisaB

Reaction score
Experience
Just started