Sick Blood Parrot

Micki317

I'm new to this whole website so if I post on the wrong thread I'm sorry!

I ended up getting two blood parrots from a friend who moved away. I've been raising them for about 8 months with no problems in a 50 gallon. The temperature has been set for 82-87 degrees. Their diet consists of the weekly cube of blood worms and then daily they are fed either flakes or pellets. Both parrots are 6+ years old and are about 9inches. Four days ago one of my blood parrots started refusing to eat and became severely pale, his last bowel movement was white and stringy. He's not his usual self either. Now he sits at the top of the tank just staring off into space, he was the most aggressive but now he lets himself be bumped by the other BP. Two days ago I've started doing 25% water changes everyday and since been adding aquarium salt. The blood parrots color came back but he still refuses to eat. I tried feedings peas in case it was constipation but he refuses to eat that. The other BP I have been feeding separately and he shows no symptoms like the sick BP. My water parameters are perfect with a PH of 6.4.

Chaory

White stringy poop is a sign of parasites.

Some people treat it with Epsom salt pellets. Some use a med call clear. I personally use Parasite Clear, but some other parasite meds should work, if not then try the other that I'd mentioned.

Also what is your water readings for ammonia, nitrite, and nitrates?

You should try to keep the water temperature steady.

Micki317

Ammonia and nitrite are 0, while nitrates is 10. After adding the medicine when do you recommend a water change?

Chaory

You can follow the directions. Me I personally use it for a week, then do my weekly water change, then repeat dose, up to 2-4 weeks.