Sick Betta

CMarie

Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Pictures are showing up out of order so I numbered them.

9AE82DFE-EB25-49EB-A256-4030EF913A54.jpeg

1. The first day we brought Pirate home from Petco - he was small and immature
868117F1-21A2-4E12-9E58-97F31CBDC526.jpeg

4. Infection looking slightly better
487AF77A-B8B0-4EA9-9105-9B38FE9B1F83.jpeg

2. First (sudden) symptoms
DE1D3FFB-8102-45A5-80B8-4F4249CD9417.jpeg

3. Infected dorsal? Treated with Fungus Clear
7A1A4DF6-5D22-4561-B3CD-C4BEA0A3CE24.jpeg

6. Dorsal looking much better, tail slightly improved
90361EB9-886A-43C3-9035-AF464FE08788.jpeg

5. Confusing test strips

12C844C0-BEF2-42D7-80E5-FE621A583D7F.jpeg

7. Parameters before an 80% water change and adding him back to the tank after showing improvement and stable water
64A0B86E-38BF-4BA3-89B8-0DC1F27C630D.jpeg

8. Flaring upon entering the tank - stressed or happy?

Hello,

This is my first post. I have some experience with fish keeping, but haven’t kept fish in a while. I was wondering if anyone could help me figure out what could be wrong with my tank that would cause my fish to become sick with fin rot? I apologize if this is long - I’ll try to keep it as short a possible while including necessary info.

Recently, my kids and I went to Petco to get our cats their yearly rabies shots. I don’t like to support pet shops who don’t take stellar care of their animals but it turned out we couldn’t leave behind a young, spunky, little opal delta-tailed Betta who obviously had bigger dreams than living in a dirty little cup.

We bought our new family member, dubbed “Pirate”, a 2.5 gallon tank with a filter, a heater, live plants, API water testing strips, an API ammonia test kit, betta food and a thermometer. I stopped at a friends house who had a fully cycled, healthy, established tank that was over 5 years old and borrowed some filter media to seed Pirate’s new home.