Sick Betta Or Old Age?

Discussion in 'Betta Fish' started by _wheremyshrimps, Apr 16, 2017.

1. _

_wheremyshrimps New Member Member

Hello!
    This is my first time posting and I just made an account so I could post this. I've had a few bettas before who have gotten sick and I've always been able to identify what's going on pretty easily, due to all the information on the internet. I have a 10 gal. planted tank that I recently moved my betta into a few weeks ago. I let the tank cycle for over a month before I moved him in. I do 25% water changes every week. I wasn't home all weekend (which is pretty normal) and came home tonight to find my fish lying on the bottom of the tank. It seems like he's gasping for air. I don't see any sign of fin rot or any other illness other than him acting lethargic. I did a 25% water change as soon as I saw he was sick. I've had him for over 2 years and he's never gotten sick before, but over the past few months he's started loosing some of his color, which I've assumed was from old age. The only noticeable change in the tank is the start of diatoms. He's definitely not feeling well, but I'm just not sure if it's because he's old or not, and I'm not sure what to do :(

2. OP
    OP
    _

I just went to check on him again and he got up and swam into the plants near the surface. I was able to get a better look at him and he's definitely sick, his belly isn't normally black and his scales are sticking out. If I remember correctly this is dropsy?

3. APierce

APierce Well Known Member Member

Sounds like dropsy, I'd not feed him for a few days, and give him some kanaplex. You can also add Epsom salts to the tank to help out the swelling some.

4. Aster

Aster Well Known Member Member

Picture? Temperature? Is the tank filtered? What are the parameters?

If you didn't add ammonia and wait for nitrite and nitrate to spike, there was no food source for the bacteria and the tank didn't cycle.

Dropsy is characterized by pineconing scales.