Sick Betta Fish - Please Help!

Discussion in 'Betta Fish' started by rpmisc, Aug 21, 2019.

1. rpmisc

rpmiscNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +1
    A bit of background: My friend dumped her baby male betta on me a few weeks ago. I am pretty new to having fish. My betta was very playful and responsive for the time he has been with me. Unfortunately, I do not have the ability to purchase medications, treatments, etc for my betta at the moment. I am working it out as best I can.

Tank

I only have a glass tank and I am unsure of its size. I do not use a filter, heater, or equipment to measure the temperature of the water. I currently have one relatively young male betta in the tank in addition to moss balls.

Maintenance
    I usually change the water once a week. I do a half way water change most of the time and do not treat the water.

*Parameters - Very Important
    I did not cycle or test the water. I am unsure of the parameters.

Feeding
    I feed the fish twice a day. 2-3 pellets. I believe the brand I use is Tetra (?)

Illness & Symptoms
    I have had the fish for maybe 3 weeks now. The symptoms started 30-45 minutes ago. My betta suddenly became super unresponsive after a water change. He had been with a friend because I was out of town this past week. I decided to do an almost complete water change as his tank was in a pretty bad condition after I came back. He started staying near the surface of the water, gasping, and his fins were clumped. He sometimes starts swimming frantically for no apparent reason. Currently, he is becoming even more unresponsive -- barely breathing or moving at all. It was hard to tell what condition my fish was in when my friend gave him to me. Other than clumped fins, his appearance has not changed.

Explain your emergency situation in detail.