Siamese Algae Eater

Marijn Lange

I've just bough five Siamese algae eaters, I hope. I had to go to three different shops to find them as all the other once were selling flying foxes nor selling them at all. The store owner told me how he disliked flying foxes and assured me these are Siamese algae eaters.

I did my research on these fish but I'm no expert. I'd like some conformation from other people that these are indeed Siamese algae eaters. The pictures aren't the sharpest as they're quick fish.

XiQS8uT.jpg

iZZGtXw.jpg

prvTXX3.jpg

VCkIKiy.jpg

WTFish?

Looks like that to me!

sinned4g63

They look like it to me! I have 2 in my 10 gallon and I love them, they are so cool to watch snack around the tank and I find them very cute when they decide to make a bed on something. If you look at some of the videos I have on my YouTube you could probably see them for better reference.

Junne

Looks like it to me as well. I have to say, they are very hard workers if you have BBA! My 4 cleaned almost every single bit of it up in 3 months! Now they are going after the java moss and other plants

Attachments

• 20180412_210424.jpg
    20180412_210424.jpg
    73.8 KB · Views: 101

Marijn Lange

Thanks to everyone! Doing my research and not trusting the first two shops whom told me they had siamese algae eaters worked out

Nikki2577

Looks like you got the real deal. The true SAEs I have were marked flying fox. lol

86 ssinit

Welcome to fishlore!! Ok looking at the fish in the bag it looks like the one in front (the biggest) may be a Chinese algae eater. Looks like a suction cup mouth. May be the picture? do they have suction cup mouths like plecos or ottos?

Nikki2577

Wow I didn't even notice that! The color looks different on the bigger one also!

Dave125g

That's what you got. You will not be disapointed.

The first 2 shots are of my SAEs the last is 1 of my flying foxes. For reference.
20181107_152819.jpg
0726171521-1.jpg
1541807498005.jpg

platy21