Shrimp Tank Build

NinjaTetra

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Hey all! I cleaned up an old 10 gallon, and decided some cherry shrimp are good inhabitants for it. I know the basics, but I would love some help and ideas. I think I'll start with red cherry shrimp, and if they work out i may eventually try some blue, black, or green crystal shrimp.
I plan to get some smaller pieces of driftwood and rock. Depending on a few variables, I'll either go with some sand my lfs sells or a plant-specific substrate. My idea is to have a big moss bed, a single crypt, and some driftwood with moss on it, with a couple smaller rocks. How do I get a good moss bed going? Anything else I need to know? Lighting, fertilizer, co2? The kind of crypt I'll use is flourishing in my 37 gallon with only stock lighting and the fish in there.

~ <-----thats one of those cool squiggly lines you do before a signature.

cabrerarm

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I'm no expert so take what I say with a grain of salt. I'd recommend a marimo ball. My rcs seem to love climbing on it. As far as the tank male sure to boil the wood have a good heater and use a sponge filter if you can they're perfect for shrimp.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum mobile app

NinjaTetra

Well Known Member
Reaction score
I've been thinking about a stylized tank, maybe an Iwagumi style. How do I get a good carpet? Thats my main question, although I would appreciate any further info about shrimp.

AquaticBrandon

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
To get a carpet (depending on which plant) you will need high light, pressurized co2 and ferts. Java moss is a pretty slow grower so having a "carpet" effect could take a while. Unless you buy a whole bunch of moss and make an instant carpet look.

NinjaTetra

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Would it be be possible with diy co2?

NinjaTetra

Well Known Member
Reaction score