shrimp in tanks

jeniferdwn

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I am not an expert by any means, but I wanted to post somthing I just heard from the pet store guy. He is very knowledgeable about fish and birds. He's got the oldest pet shop in the state from what he says. I asked about his prices on shrimp. Well, his bad thing is that he can't give you a quick answer. He wanted to know what size tank, what else is in it, and how long it's been set up. He said the tank has to run and age for about 8 weeks with fish in it to set up the right amount of bacteria and all (after that, he'll even take the fish back). They can live by themselves in the tank after you have it aged. I've read several posts on shrimp dying, so this may be something to think about. I also know that I have set some up sooner before and everything has been alright, so I don't know a definite answer. Like I said before, he is very good at what he does, but it's his way or it's wrong. Just something for you all to think about since I've read some are loosing shrimp.

jetajockey

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
It sounds like he has a simplified explanation (or understanding) of the nitrogen cycle. Either way he does sound concerned with the creatures well being which is becoming rare in the industry

Meenu

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
1 year