Should I Upgrade My Tank?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by pickledfish1001, Aug 1, 2017.

1. pickledfish1001New MemberMember

I'm really worried about my fish all the time, and that makes me think I've done something wrong. I'm new to all of this, but my family isn't, so I've been getting some advice from my dad, but we all know how dads can be sometimes.
    I have a 10 gallon tank, upgraded from a 2.5 gallon to stabilize it. In the tank, I have 3 mollies, a platy, 2 balloon mollies, 2 corys, and 2 ADFs. I also have an African Sword and what I think is a water sprite.
    The 10g is a new tank, but the cycle was jump-started (or so I thought) with a combo of old gravel (from the 2.5), old filter media (from a filter we had lying around) and API quickstart.
    At first, my ammonia was pretty high, in the stress range. I did a water change (~50% last week), and that put the ammonia at 0, where it's stayed. I thought the tank was okay- none of my fish fight, none were sick. Then, one of my balloon mollies started acting weird and I discovered some white spots on his back fin, and some rips- I was afraid it was ich, but I figured out it was fin rot. I immediately went to my LPS and picked up some melafix, and was informed that ammonia isn't always the biggest problem. Also got some test strips for nitrates and nitrites- which I knew were a part of the tank but didn't think they were dangerous to the fish (I don't know why this didn't occur to me.)
    My numbers for nitrates and nitrites were super high, so I did an immediate water change (at least 25% yesterday). I took the carbon out of my filter (as per Melafix instructions) and started treating the tank. My fish started to look better, but today I noticed that his eye was all messed up and he had developed ich. Now I'm treating both the 2.5 and the 10 with Melafix.