Dismiss Notice
Hi there! You are currently viewing the forum as a guest. To log in, go here.

To become a member please register here.

Should I Take My Fish To My Dorm? Question

Discussion in 'Betta Fish' started by ElTacoEater, Apr 25, 2019.

1. ElTacoEaterNew MemberMember

Hey guys, I made an account specifically so I could ask this question. I'm very concerned about my betta, Maxwell. He's in a heated 10 gallon planted tank and lives with a nerite snail named Acorn.

I'm a college student and I live in another state, not too far though, just about two hours outside of my home state. He is currently under the care of my older brother, I gave him a written manual on how to take care of Maxwell. (Change 30% of the water weekly, don't forget to add water conditioner, feed him 3 pellets daily, fast him one day a week etc.) I've had him for almost a year now, and I noticed every time I leave, he begins to bite his tail. When I talk to my mother on the phone she says "Why does he keep shrinking?" I come back maybe every other week as long as I don't have much school work and every time I do come back his tail is raggedy.

When I came back from school for winter break, I had seven weeks off. Because of this tail problem, I decided to feed him the frozen food I have in the freezer (brother is too squeamish to feed dead insects) and do larger water changes. His tail mostly grew back, but then when I had to go back to school, he went back to tail biting.