Should I start an 80 gallon tank? Question

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by klogue2, Dec 23, 2012.

1. klogue2

klogue2 Valued Member Member

I'm considering starting a new tank. I'm just not sure if I'm ready for it yet.

What's making me want to start is the multiple tank syndrome :) I saw this add on CL for an 80g aquarium and stand, and I believe all the extras for $200! If it does come with the filters and everything, it's a deal i would hate to pass up. I'm asking the seller if anything besides the stand comes with the tank so we will see.

But what do you guys think? Do you think it's too big for a still beginner? I know large tanks are easier to maintain however the thought of such a big tank is a little scary (I'm a little timid in general as a person lol). Does it take a lot of time to care for such a large tank? I'm a high school student and have a job so I'm on a pretty full schedule, but I always make time to care for my pets (big animal lover here) so as long as it doesn't require hours of work every day I think I can handle it.

Edit: I also realize that a large tank like this will be expensive to set up depending on what I will need if/after I buy it. But I don't plan to do it all at once, I'll get the things I need in stride and when it's all ready I'll get the fish! That way I can cycle it as I go while getting the decor ready and whatever else I'll need, and by the time Ita finished cycling I should possibly have everything ready to go.

Last edited: Dec 23, 2012
  2. bankruptjojo

bankruptjojo Fishlore VIP Member

big tanks are much easier to take care of imo.