Should I put salt in the tank?

Cherrry123
I have 1 dalmation molly, 1 black molly, and 1 orange balloon belly molly, two shrimp, and 3 platy fry, I read that mollies like salt, and that some shrimp perfer salt, but what about the platy fry? I am also thinking of gettting a pair of agelfish, there so cool, but would putting aquarium salt in the tank make my other fish die, or poison them? I'm completely new to fish tanks, and yes the tank is cycled, I think that's the mos important step, and would it affect my fish?

swords3711
The platys will be fine I don't know about the angels though

susitna-flower
Don't use salt in a community tank. If you just have mollies it is ok if you use aquarium salt, but overall it is too hard on most tropical fish.....

Cherry, how big is your tank?

Cherrry123
K thanks, I haven't made it offical that I was going to get them yet though, I might get another molly, or wait for mine to have babies.

Cherrry123
Don't use salt in a community tank. If you just have mollies it is ok if you use aquarium salt, but overall it is too hard on most tropical fish.....

Cherry, how big is your tank?

Ummmm, not sure, but it's larger then 10 gallons, I didn't really pay attention.

swords3711
oh wait for babies believe me I get millions easily and they don't die ever!

Cherrry123
Ok thanks!

0morrokh
Ummmm, not sure, but it's larger then 10 gallons, I didn't really pay attention.

It's important to find out how big your tank is because it may be overstocked already, and if so you don't want to add any more fish. https://www.fishlore.com/ConversionCalculator.htm On the bottom of this page is a calculator to find out volume if you measure the dimensions.

I agree that salt is unnecessary and is stressful for most freshwater fish. The mollies will be fine without it.

Cherrry123
I checked the box its 14 gallons, sorry I forgot. My fish exclouding the babies, are 3" each so 3x3=9

angelfish220