Should I Get African Or Stick With Ca/sa? (beginner) Help

1. KevInLA Member Member

Hi everyone,

Im new to aquarium keeping and am getting my first tank delivered this weekend. It is a 60 gallon 48x15x18. I had in mind to do a CA/SA Cichlid community tank. I recently tested my water after getting a high range ph tester and it looks like its around 7.6-7.8 range with the water sitting for 24hrs before testing. Since Id rather not mess with the water too much i have read its easier to get fish based on your local water supply instead of trying to mess with the chemistry to get the ph you want.

I already bought a couple pieces of Mopani Driftwood and have them soaking and boiling...still releasing tannins almost a week later. I know this will help with the ph a little bit, which has me conflicted as to whether I should do CA/SA or try Africans since theyre more accomdating to higher ph and hardness. Thankfully, I still have time to go either way with regards to CA/SA or African.

Seeing as how this is my first tank, Im afraid CA/SA Cichlids would be harder to keep within the parameters of my water out of the tap, but much better for a community tank, which i initially wanted to do. Africans do seem a bit intimidating for a first-timer, but Im not unwilling to consider them if its easier to manage with my tap water.

Can anyone offer this very eager first time fish tank owner some pros n cons on African Cichlids for beginners? Should I stick to my CA/SA community tank? Any and all pointers, suggestions, etc about anything would be greatly appreciated!

2. yukondog Well Known Member Member

The first thing to do is get your tank cycled, for me I find the SA cichlids a little harder to get established than African. The only cichlids I have are kribs, they seem to be pretty hardy and tough, good luck and let us know how it goes, I'm sure others will chime in soon.

3. Josh Summers Member Member