Should I euthanize my cichlid?

Discussion in 'Cichlids' started by Daemonx101, Apr 8, 2010.

1. D

Daemonx101 New Member Member

Hi, I know this is a very sad topic, and even a tougher decision for me, but if I could get some advice, it would really help.

I've had my first cichlid tank for about 8 months now.
    One of my cichlids sort of fell behind in the growth race, where most of my cichlids are now about 3-3.5 inches (one is practically 4 inches), and he around 2 inches. But he was equally agressive, and was able to fend for himself quite well, was eating fine; nothing seemed to be wrong.

However the other day I went to feed my fish in the morning and noticed His tail was missing! A small part of his tail remained, but I could see extensions of bone sticking out. I immediately cleaned the tank and
    put him into a second tank (which someone told me was a bad idea, as I can no longer reintroduce him)
    I am a university student so I really don't have a world of time. But I cant stand seeing him like this. (Its been about a week since the incidence.)
    Should I euthanize him?

Sorry for the long info, but I'm hoping it would give someone a better picture of whats going on. I'd really appreciate the help.

2. crazedACD

crazedACD Valued Member Member

If he's already lasted a week, I wouldn't euthanize yet! If he is doing OK, his tail will grow back and he will recover. What is his behavior like, is he eating, swimming around, etc? I wouldn't put him back in the tank, but try and get him to recover and then return him to a fish store (or give him to someone who can care for him) if you can't house him separately.

3. OP
    OP
    D

Daemonx101 New Member Member

Thanks for the input. He eats, though very little. When I was taking him out of the tank he really went wild, and was in shock for about 2 days. He has calmed down a bit.