shoaling vs schooling

1. EmptyH Initiate Member

This may be a dumb question, but I am new to this so please bear with me.

Is there a difference between shoaling and schooling fish? The terms seem to be used interchangeably but but some sites seem to make a point of saying fish 'A' is a shoaling fish and fish 'B' is a schooling fish.

Thanks

EmptyH

2. joe Member Member

I'm not sure either, i was wondering about that. good question ;)

3. Isabella Fishlore VIP Member

I am not sure if I am right on this one, but here is my response. Both shoaling and schooling fish are fish that swim in groups and should always be kept in larger groups in order to do well. Fish live in groups to avoid being eaten by predators. For example, when a predator is nearby, when it sees a large group of small fish, it may actually mistake the group of fish for one larger fish and thereby it will leave them alone.This is the technique the small fish use to survive in the environment.

A shoaling fish is a fish that stays close to its group but it does not align its body with the bodies of other fish in the group as they all swim. A shooling fish is the one that will align its body position to that of the entire group. I have 12 neon tetras and I don't see them schooling, so I suppose they're shoaling fish. A large group of schooling fish will look spectacular given lots of space and as they all swim in exactly the same direction and with the same speed, etc ... as if they all were clones of each other, lol.

4. EmptyH Initiate Member

Cool thanks. I guess that explains my 5 Tiger Barbs. They really enjoy hanging out with each other but they also spend time apart or in groups of two or three playing "tag", they must be shoaling fish.

thanks

5. dahly Member Member

From: http://badmanstropicalfish.com/articles/article27.html

"Schooling and shoaling fish
    Sometimes, one fish truly is not enough. These are my favorite fish, and my down-falling.