Sexing Surinamensis

Discussion in 'Fish, Snail, Worm And Pest ID Help' started by Nutter, Apr 8, 2010.

1. Nutter

NutterFishlore VIPMember

This is my first time owning one of these & I'm not sure if it's a male or female. So cichlid lovers, which do you think it is?

Don't ask me about the male Pearl that's in with it. I don't think it's a good idea but it's the missuses tank & she wants to go with the "try it & see" option. I'm prepeared to rehome the Pearl if it doesn't work for her.

PS: Sorry about the low quality pics. Cheap camera until I can afford a new one.

EDIT: I just convinced the missus to let me take the Pearl out of the tank. So it's out & on it's way to a mates tank now.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Apr 9, 2010
  2. bolivianbaby

bolivianbabyFishlore LegendMember

Wow, beautiful fish!

Maybe you can PM BTate. He'd be a good one to help you figure out the sex.:p

3. btate617

btate617Well Known MemberMember

Hey Nutter

Great fish! Would be nice if more people got interested in Geophagus.

As to it being a Geophagus Surinamensis I highly doubt it, here are a few reasons why.
    The true G. Surinamensis only comes from one river ( and a couple of its tributaries) in Suriname. Also export has not been done for years from there, unless this has changed in the last few years which I don't believe it has. Before someone says you don't have to have fish from the wild to have them in the hobby, yes I know. Having said that there has not been many to find in the hobby in the last 15 years or so. There probably are some somewhere but good luck finding them. Someone more than likely has them but has no idea what they have.