Sexing angelfish

Discussion in 'Angelfish' started by TerraC, Dec 1, 2012.

1. TerraCNew MemberMember

image.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpg

I currently have 4 angelfish and am Looking for help on sexing them as there has been some bickering. 2 angels I think have paired off the silver with black stripes and the brown with a little marble. I also have a pure white and black velvet that the other 2 constantly peck at. Your help is much appreciated thank you

2. Sly-FoxNew MemberMember

From what I've heard there is no sure-fire way of sexing angels until they are breeding... A more experienced member could tell you more I'm new to angels... I can say though that you have really nice looking fish.

3. RogueAgent94

RogueAgent94Fishlore VIPMember

Welcome to FishLore:;toast

As Fox said, it is impossible to know the sex of an angelfish without actually seeing it breed. But there are certain indicators that prove to be useful. I'd guess (in order of pictures from left to right) you have a (1) female, (2) male, (3) male, and (4) female.

Here's a good thread to read: How to sex Angelfish

4. nippybetta

nippybettaWell Known MemberMember

Rogue, you are good! I have trouble with juvie angels.

5. RogueAgent94

;D After 10 years of keeping angels you'd think I could do more than guess haha.

6. OP
    OP
    T

TerraCNew MemberMember

Are these male angelfish? My other 2 are not yet showing a breeding tube

I have 4 angelfish and i need to treat the other 2 for fin rot so I have just these 2 in the tank. The stripped one seems to Peck at the other a lot

Attached Files:

7. Aquarist

AquaristFishlore LegendMember

8. RogueAgent94

TerraC, the thee pictures look female. A full profile picture of the fish will help.

9. OP
    OP
    T

TerraCNew MemberMember

They are at the top of the page. You had given me a guess so I thought maybe if I had a breeding tube showing we could make a better guess. Thank you for your opinions I really appreciate them

10. RogueAgent94