Several questions...

ibean

Reaction score
Hi!

I'm new, both to this forum and the world of tropical fish keeping So far this site has been very informative and helpful, but I would still appreciate your input on subjects I have not been able to find answers to in my research. I have not yet set up a tank, as I want to see if I have the right conditions to set up a successful one (preferably planted).

First of all, I am a student living in a dorm room. Although I would love to add a 10 or 20 gallon tank to my room, I would like to know how feasible it is to do so. My permanent home is about an hour's driving distance, and space is not an issue, as the dorm rooms are pretty large . I will also have access to several pet supply stores. Is the stress caused by transportation of a 10-20 gallon planted tank an issue? Is there something else I am not considering?

If that's a go, I would like to ask you about the community I would put in the tank. I currently have an empty 10 gallon tank, and have researched its limits. If I was to use this tank, I would put in maybe 3-4 otocinclus catfish (any other hardier algae eaters for a beginner? They seem pretty fragile, but if no other algae eater will fit in my tank, I will give it a go with them) and a betta. Is this an okay set up?

If I was to get a larger tank (20 gallons is probably the maximum size as of now), would the addition of a couple platies or swordtails incite the  betta's attack response? Their fins aren't particularly large, but any input from personal experience would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

JMatt1983

Valued Member
Reaction score