Question Setting up my new tank!

miishii

Reaction score
Hi! I'm setting a a new 5.5gallon for my Betta!
Just got it all filled with water and got the filter running. I also purchased a water testing kit so that I can monitor the cycling.
I just had a couple questions since I'm new to cycling a tank!

1. I only have one heater which is currently in my Bettas old tank, so if I cycle the tank without a heater, will it make a difference once I bring the heater to the new one?

2. If I should cycle with a heater, should I cycle with the fish in the tank then since I only have 1? I don't plan on using the other tank so I don't want to get a 2nd heater.

3. The filter seemed really strong so I rigged up a water bottle to help break the flow (I'll attach a picture) I secured it with a rubber band + electrical tape is that okay or is there something better I could use to keep is secure? Neither are touching the water, just holding the plastic in place.

4. Once the tank is cycled I'm considering getting tank mates for my betta. I'm looking at snails/shrimp since I'm assuming 5.5 is too small for other fish? Are other fish even ok to go with Bettas? The people at the pet store said yes to some fish but I don't know if I trust them haha.

Thanks! I know it's a lot of questions! But I want to make sure I get it right!! I can't wait to get a few more decorations to really spruce it up .
IMG_20191020_135117.jpg
IMG_20191020_135159.jpg

FinalFins

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
You can bring everything over from the new tank (filter, heater, substrate *put substrate in little pouch or some sleeve if you don't want it mixing* and it should cut cycling down to a few days. So with a water change or two you have a filtered tank.

But if you prefer going fishless cycle I would cycle the bacteria the temp you want the fish to be in.

OP
M

miishii

Reaction score
FinalFins said: