Setting up a New 20 gallon freshwater tank, need advice please

1. Madmartigan219 Initiate Member

Hello all, not only am i new to the site, i am also new to proper fish care taking. thought i would ask you folks on here because i dont want to end up harming the little boogers.

so anywho, i set up the tank on saturday May 28th, 2016. I was advised by petsmart to set everything up without fish at home, set up my filter and put food in once on the first day, and a chemical called "stress zyme" in there with no fish and just let everything run for 1 week and it will be ready. so thats what i did.

oh, its also of note that i purchased a "quietflow 30" filter, it says it can filter up to a 45 gallon, so i figured it would do really good in only a 20 gallon?

however, the water turned cloudy after a few days, on Monday May 30th, 2016, and i began doing my own research, and learned about "cycling" and why its done. i went to a different pet store and followed the (possibly bad) advice of the person there. which was basically that i needed alot more chemicals.. these are the ones i added below..

[​IMG]

so today on June 2nd, 2016. i bought a freshwater test kit and tested my water. the results are below.. (they are both the same tests, just slightly different angles)

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

also this is what my tank looks like, the cloudiness may not be "super" apparent in the pics, but it IS cloudy. this is a front, then side profile pic of the tank currently.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

could anyone help me with how to proceed from here? i plan on just having a small school of neon tetras in the tank (and maybe some other friendly little guy that wont bother them) i dont know if i can trust the conflicting advice that i keep getting and reading. so id really appreciate any help, you guys seem to know your stuff

2. New Fish in Town Well Known Member Member

I'm not an expert on the nitrogen cycle, but if it turned cloudy after a day, or two then you were doing it right.