Set up tank in Janaury, still struggling with ammonia.

mentatsndietcoke

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
After a near 15 year break I've gotten back into the hobby and set up a brand new aquarium. While I'm not a total beginner, I've still needed a thorough refresher. I've spent a ton of time reading up on stocking, filtration, cycling, and equipment and believe that I've made most decisions in what I think are an educated and deliberate manner. I settled on a 29 gallon tank (the largest that fit the space), a Tidal 55 filter, Aquasky 2.0 light, and a 150 watt glass heater. As for substrate I'm using thoroughly rinsed black diamond blasting sand, the tank has been decorated with two sizable pieces of driftwood and several granite type rocks that I've recovered from river beds in my area. Of course the driftwood and rocks were thoroughly sanitized before being added to the tank.