Set up first aquarium NO SUCTION??

GKat250000
GOT IT FIXED Thanks!

Hey fishies,

I just bought and set up my first aquarium, a Marine Hex 5. (Got a titanium heater too) Spring water's up to 80 degrees. Biospira is ready. BUT no water seems to be entering the pump filtration assembly (where it would be turning the bio-wheel and running through the filter cartridge, etc). The impeller is whirling (by the way, I am a first time fish keeper so I am saying all these words, but I'm not an old pro) and I can feel it vibrating, but when I put my fingers near the intake tube and strainer, I feel no pull and no current whatsoever (I even put a bit of tissue paper down near it and it's drawing nothing towards it).

Does it just take a long time to get going?
Did I just get a bum Pump Filtration unit?
Did I forget to add a part? (On the hex five, it looks like you just attach the magnetic impeller assembly to the pump filtration assembly, and then add the intake tube and strainer. I have no extra parts left to add.) [Unless I have to do something to the impeller?] I already took off the Intake tube to see if a loose connection was causing no suction.

Let me know your thoughts, thanks. GERRY

Wolfgang8810
make sure there isn't anyhting in the intake tube. Also you shouldnt use the bio spira until your ammonia is at 3 ppm you can but it is most effective when starting it at 3 ppm so the bacteria have something to eat .

GKat250000
Got It Fixed> Thanks!

Hello all