SERIOUS algae issues :(

1. emmiesaurus Initiate Member

My tank is having really really bad algae problems.. It's a 5G, moderately planted with crypts, no livestock as of yet. I have a 11w flourescent light on for about 12 hours a day. The crypts are planted in soil topped with gravel and I don't dose fertilizers. I have a DIY CO2 system I set up about 2 weeks ago, in the hope that providing more CO2 would encourage my plants to grow, outcompeting the algae, but no such luck!

I have brown algae that keeps coating the leaves of my crypts, I have to rub it off 2-3 times a week
    Light brown and green algae covering the glass, again, I wipe this off
    Heres the scary part - dark green/black algae growing on the bottom of the aquarium that goes from being on the bottom to covering entire plants in a matter of hours!

I have no idea how to get rid of any of this stuff, i'm very new to this and need some help!

2. Harlebleondora Well Known Member Member

It's bit hard to work out what these algaes are without pictures, they would be appreciated.

Firstly, brown algae sounds like diatoms. these normally occur in new tanks and go away by themselves when the tank is established.

Is the green algae on the glass in spots or a coat?

Dark green algae sounds like cyanobacteria which is a bacteria that behaves like algae. It moves fast and covers anything it can.

Is the black algae fuzzy? It sounds like black beard algae which is also a pain and kills plants.

Treatment- Lower your lighting. You should have no more than 10 hours of lighting a day. I light my tanks for 6 hours a day. (1pm-7pm) Keep up on the water changes and dose fertilisers. Most of these algae are caused by imbalance. If you have a high power light, which you do you need co2, got high powered light and co2? you need to dose ferts. I recommend picking up some flourish and maybe some root tabs.

Diatoms-Should go away over time, might just need to scrape them from the glass.