Help Serious Algae Issue Causing Fish Deaths

Aquarist95

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Hello,
I have been keeping goldfish for several years now but I have never had such an issue as the one I am currently facing. I have too much string algae in my 2500 litre outdoor pond and it has recently caused issues with my fish getting stuck in it and swallowing it and having it stuck in their gills. I have had 4 fish deaths over the past 2 months because of this and I haven’t yet figured out what is going wrong. Water parameters are 0,0,<5. I am not overfeeding. I am doing water changes when necessary. It is not overstocked. Half the pond is in shade and it is only Spring weather here in Australia. I have many plants in the pond. I manually remove this stuff as much as I can but it is very hard. I use barley straw extract with minimal good effect to help and nothing works to control this stuff. I currently have the fish in a blow up pool temporarily as I have emptied the pond tonight in hope to get rid of as much algae as possible. I will be cleaning it tomorrow and refilling it. Any advice would be appreciated.
Thankyou.

allllien

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Hello,