Senegal Bichir Questions

Discussion in 'Oddball Fish' started by Fishbro5, Mar 7, 2019.

1. Fishbro5

Fishbro5Valued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +45
    Experience:
    3 years
    Alright so I am not a beginner but I really didn't know what category to put this in that will get responded to so I chose this one. In my 75 gallon I have 4 Bosemani Rainbowfish (One jumped out unbeknownst and died recently), a Rainbow Shark, Pictus Catfish, Blood Parrot, and hopefully soon a Albino Senegal Bichir. In my 37 gallon quarantine I have my Bichir. He has been in there for 3 months and I am a little concerned to finally put him in the 75. Sometimes it is already hard to feed the Pictus because all the other Pigs (fish) steal my carnivore pellets before they get to the bottom. What I am concerned about is that the Bichir will go into the display tank, not get enough food, and starve to death. It already is a little slow to get to the food by itself in the quarantine. Any suggestions as to how to make sure my Bichir will get fed enough food in the display tank?

2. SaltyPhone

SaltyPhoneWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +359
    Experience:
    1 year
    Well it’s reasonable to suspect the bichir is healthy. So maybe put say half the rainbows in the qt with him and see how he fares.

3. Willis19

Willis19New MemberMember

Ratings:
    +7
    I suggest using a plastic tube to direct food to the bottom without interference.

4. OP
    OP
    Fishbro5

Ratings:
    +45
    Experience:
    3 years
    The Rainbows were actually with him in the quarantine for a month and he was able to get the food so should he be alright to put into the big tank now?

That sounds amazing I will definitely do that. I have seen it before with stingray but never thought about that for a Bichir.

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 7, 2019
  5. SaltyPhone

SaltyPhoneWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +359
    Experience:
    1 year