Semi-new to fishkeeping. I'm planning a good tank, what do you think?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by orangeclumsy1, Dec 7, 2012.

1. orangeclumsy1

orangeclumsy1 Valued Member Member

I've had some experience in the past with guppies, glo fish, and platies. I was younger and didn't really know how to take care of them properly so I sold them. Now I have a job at a local family owned and operated pet store and I'm looking into fish again. I get an employee discount of 20% in early January and so I'm waiting until then so I can get that discount, fish can be expensive! I'm thinking of a....

20 gallon (tall)
    aquascaped (I need tips on this. I know I want live plants though. But not too crowded)

And I want to start with...

3 Cardinal tetras
    3 neon tetras
    3 cory catfish (which kind though?)
    My current betta, Steve
    5 ghost shrimp (Experimentally)

And eventually I want
    4 cardinals
    4 neons
    5 or so corys
    My betta
    10 ghost shrimp
    And one mystery snail.

I plan on having lots of plants, and when I have this many fish I'll also add a second filter.
    Any other fish stocking ideas? They MUST be able to stay with bettas though, because I'm keeping Steve in it no matter.

2. JDcichlidlover

JDcichlidlover Well Known Member Member

Well it sounds ok to me. I think 20 long would be a better idea.
    Panda cories and pygmy corys stay pretty small. They like to be in groups of at least 6. Preferably 8. The cardinals and neons like to be in groups of at least 6 too. Look into harliquin rasporas. They're pretty too. And look into cherry red shrimp instead of ghost shrimp. They breed like crazy so it won't matter if Steve eats a few or not lol.

3. OP
    OP
    orangeclumsy1