Second "level" In A 65g Tank

cla001
...This might be the dumbest idea I've ever had crossing my mind, but if I don't run it by the community, I'd feel I missed something important lol.

Basically it was inspired by a photo of someone's small betta tank with a kind of a cradle on one of the walls attached with a suction cup. I wondered if I could do something remotely resembling this for my 65g tank - something like a "balcony"/"porch", maybe even with a different kind of substrate (e.g. gravel at the bottom of the tank, some fine sand on this balcony or vice versa) with some shelter / decor on this balcony.

I tried sketching what I am thinking about, though I am not an artist, but hopefully my weird idea is clear.

Don't ask me "why?!" - I don't know yet. For some reason I think it might be cool and fish might like it (?).

Any thoughts? Is it the dumbest aquascaping idea possible? Any practical reasons why I should never even attempt doing this?

Appreciate any and all ideas!
Thanks!

Attachments

• second_level.jpg
    second_level.jpg
    254.7 KB · Views: 90
david1978
I made a shelf from those stackable file holders. 4 actually it gives plenty of swimming room for the cories.

cla001
I made a shelf from those stackable file holders. 4 actually it gives plenty of swimming room for the cories.
Do you have any pictures of that setup by any chance...?

B1GD4DDY
It would appear this has been done to some degree. I even found some listings on Amazon.

5b9fa4_87311f0d0fe241ac9717fe3777fd1065~mv2.jpg

c83eaae8436490e4f7721325391a~mv2_d_5312_2988_s_4_2.jpg

Lunnietic
I want to see the finished project.

r5n8xaw00
Funny not to0 long ago I asked the same question, but your sketch is way better then mine.... Link

Kysarkel000