Second Hand Tank, Cycling, Stocking Levels... Question

1. Meeko2690

Meeko2690 Member Member

Hi everyone! I am a newbie fishkeeper looking for some advice and I have a few questions. I have never kept fish before however when I was a child my father had a 4ft freshwater tank that he got me to help him with, which is probably where the interest comes from. This is something I have always wanted to do, I just never had the space/time etc until now. So I am super keen to get going.
    I have a decent general knowledge of fish from my time reading about them on the web and bits and pieces of fishkeeping knowledge that I have picked up also. I understand the Nitrogen cycle, however only a basic understanding. So with this in mind I have these questions..

I have been offered via Gumtree/Craigslist a tank and cabinet that fits perfectly into my space. It is 200L Fluval. There is no fish. It is 2 years old, and from the pictures looks to be in good condition. It comes with a ton of stuff, the Fluval 306 filter, heaters, chemicals, spare LEDs etc even good old books and manuals! Basically for all the items brand new it would cost upwards of £700 but I have been offered this for £350. To me it seems like a no brainer, thoughts?

I am pretty sceptical about purchasing second hand, but having spoken to the person selling it I am pretty confident they are not a scammer or anything like that and are genuinely just trying to sell everything as is. The reason for this sale is because they are moving house and won't have space. Assuming everything is fine and well and I do end up with this aquarium here are my questions..

1. The seller said she would deep clean everything for me before visit, remove the gravel the inside of the tank etc. Will I just tell them NOT to clean anything and leave as is, as it will help me with getting the tank set up quicker? Anything that does need cleaned, better to do myself?