Second hand fish tank clean up

Kerrykeg

Hi all

Just got a second hand 90lt fish tank and it needs a good clean cone with filter and heater what's best products to use on it that won't hurt the fish lots of water marks and limescale. Can I use normal cleaning stuff and just male sure I rinse rinse rinse and more rinse.

AquEric

Ammonia and bleach work best never put normal cleaning products in a tank oh yeah lots of elbow

Demeter

I prefer to use vinegar to remove water marks and lime. Gotta let it soak for a bit then scrub, scrub, scrub!

Travisb1297

I also prefer vinegar. I also will just spray it out outside with the hose.

StarGirl

Ammonia would probably be a good one to use since you will be dosing it for a fishless cycle anyway. ;)

Kerrykeg

Thanks all I'm not setting it up yet as I already have two small tanks up and running. I'm new to the fish world and already made stupid mistakes for advice at pet shop. So panic bought a bigger tank with no money left to set it up haha. But I wanted to get it cleaned and ready but didn't want to use anything that will harm the fish. Also would anyone be able to tell me in a 90L tank will 20% water changes be enough to keep tank running well. I'm on a serious budget. And don't want to take on a big tank and use lots of water. Sorry for all questions.

RomeoOscar

Hi, about the marks, I've heard about the vinegar, tried it, but in really old marks it's no good... I'm also concerned for contaminating the tank, so I left the marks there... If the tank is empty you can really use anything, though make sure you rinse A LOT of times... One drop of the wrong stuff and you can kill your entire tank... I'm gonna try soaking it in vinegar for a while on a used tank I got.