Seachem Alert Vs Api Ammonia Test

Brannor
HI all.

I'm new to keeping fish, and went with buying a whole bunch of aquarium items and then started my cycle with fish.

I've had the tank 3 weeks, had the tetras since day 3 and guppies and bristlenose about 2 weeks.
Tank is a AquaOne 980 (215L tank, but real volume is closer to 180L). Fish Count is currently 8 Neon Tetras, 13 Guppies and 3 Bristlenose (from 2 inches down to 1 inch) (we did lose 2 tetras and 3 guppies in quick succession when I added too many guppies - one tetra was removed, the other died, while the 3 guppies looked to be the weakest 3 and all died... I know... I'm a terrible father and had to front my 2 young daughters... ).

We have live plants too, some of which the fish are eating, others which didn't fare so well. And because of that I put in osmocote tabs to help them get going. And herein lies my conundrum.

Every API test since that day has shown at least 1ppm on the API Ammonia test. Even a 50% water only got it to drop from quite high (4ppm) to 1ppm. Nothing I do can get that API test to go below green.

vrwgcxO.jpg

Now I know I'm still getting my cycle going (the low Nitrite and Nitrate readings show that), but I don't think this is related to the cycle.

However, I have placed a Seachem Alert inside inside the tank, and it now shows barely higher than safe.

EmOenwh.jpg

I got the Seachem Alert because I was told that it tests Free Ammonia, and not the combined Ammonia and Ammonium that API tests.

One of the main ingredients of Osmocote is Ammonium Nitrate.

Will the API test ever go down to 0? The (awesome) Petstore I want to get our fish from tests the water every time and with a 1ppm there is no way they'll give us more fish - and they use the API master test kit like I do.

Both photos were taken this morning at the same time, and the water extracted for the API was from the bottom of the tank in case there was something 'fishy' going on.

-G

bitseriously