Sea Clone skimmer

Gozer_1

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
I recently purchased a Sea Clone skimmer. Now it hasn't ran for very long but I'm concerned. Everything I read talks about "micro Bubbles" Well I have bubbles, but they aren't "micro". I don't see how what bubbles I get could make foam even if it were an old system with lot of crud. I've tried all the valve adjustment techniques I've read on-line. It has only been 2 days. Will these micro bubbles suddenly appear when it has "cycled". It seems weird to me that the venturi draws air in through the intake. Seems to me like air in the pump is cavitation and cavitation kills flow and is noisy. I'm new to skimmers so any wisdom would be highly appreciated.

Miss Mouse

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Re: Anyone know anything about the Sea Clone skimmer

I dont know about sea clones but my aquaC took about 4 days to seem to do anything at all. Then it made loads of fine bubbles in the water for about 2 weeks until it settled down so let it run for a bit long and see how it goes...
good luck!

Gozer_1

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years

I ran it for 3 days and saw nothing but a gurgle of useless bubbles. No amount of adjusting (I bought a quality valve for it) got me anything useful. I read some reviews and it seemed pretty hit or miss with this skimmer. I tried some Mods but found the only thing to get foam generating bubbles was an airstone jammed down the riser tube. With this method I got decent foam but it took constant adjusting to keep it up. I did some more research (as I should have to begin with) and opted for the higher priced but much higher praised Remora. Live and learn I guess. Some say the have had resounding success with the Seaclone. Maybe it was just a patience issue, but reviews aren't always too far from the truth, and most of what I saw pointed to trouble ahead.

Miss Mouse

Well Known Member
Reaction score