Schooling Fish Questions 10 Gallon Tank

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by natureandwildlife, Apr 17, 2019.

1. natureandwildlifeNew MemberMember

Hello! I'm a beginner in the fish hobby and I just set up my first aquarium. I've done all of my research on making sure the water conditions will be perfect for the fish. I have a 10 gallon tank with several artificial plants. I'd love to get either guppies or neons along with a few other fish like (mollies, platies, or a dwarf gourami, I'm not sure yet) I know that neons and guppies are schooling fish but I don't want my only tank to be mostly guppies or neons. So I was wondering what the bare minimum would be. I also wanted to know how to tell if your water is oxygenated enough. Also, is the 1 inch of fish per gallon rule to keep down ammonia, to keep from overcrowding, or both? If it's overcrowding, can you bend it a bit as long as it's logical? Keep in mind that I'm a beginner but I do know about the nitrogen cycle in case you were wondering. All advice is appreciated, thank you.

2. FahnFishlore VIPMember

1 inch per gallon isn't really a good rule to go by, as it doesn't take into account fish's bioloads or behaviors. For example, a single goldfish would be quite taxing on the biological filtration of a 10 gallon, but you could keep 100 cherry shrimp in a 10 gallon and the filtration wouldn't be nearly as taxed as with that one individual 2 inch fish.

A 10 gallon isn't really big enough to support a community, to be honest. If you want a schooling fish I recommend looking at the microrasboras and danios, such as chili rasbora or celestial pearl danios. They are smaller than neons and guppies and have less of an overall bioload (guppies and other livebearers produce a ton of waste relative to size). However, I do recommend keeping these fish with some live plants as they help maintain better water quality.

Here is a suggestion for a vibrant, colorful tank:

6-10 micro rasbora/danios