Save my fish please! Help

1. BlackNotebookTanks Well Known Member Member

One of my cardinal Tetra has Dropsy and I can't get to the fish shop until tomorrow. I've separated him into a plastic jug but it still in the main tank. (he's hanging on the side) I've added a small dose of medicine that treats gill and body flukes. Hopefully that will do something for him. My main tank is currently being treated for parasites any way, i'm using flash metronidazole in a home made fish food. This is the fish in question will he survive the night?
    [​IMG][​IMG]

2. Bellatrix Member Member

I'm so sorry to hear this, sadly I'm brand new at this too so I can't give advice but I'd like to let you know I wish him a fast recovery.

3. Aquarium Newb Member Member

Dropsy is very hard, if you even can, cure. This late in you cant save it more than likely. You should euthanize it in my opinion. If you can find it early enough epsom salt helps but if he is already pineconing then he is a goner. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

And about the survive the night thing sorry, however its hard to tell with dropsy how long he will live.

4. MissyRay Member Member

Aww, sorry to hear about that. Poor little guy.

5. Bellatrix Member Member

What a horrible thing to say aquariumnewbie!
    If he's going to pass away he should do so naturally not because you decide it's time.

6. Kwig Well Known Member Member

I don't think you understand how nasty of a disease dropsy is. They get like that because their organs are failing and they can't discard excess fluid in their tissues.
    Humane euthanasia is something that has to be viewed as a last resort to end chronic suffering. It was suggested appropriately in this case.
    This is not the place to have a debate about it, though.

OP, with it this far gone his chances are next to none and I too recommend euthanasia. I like the clove oil method. They become unconscious and then you continue to dose until they just stop breathing.