Sand Vs Gravel Substrate Question 

Caroline J

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello! So there is a large chance I could be getting a new, most likely larger fish tank for Christmas. I’ve been keeping guppies, guppy fry, and ghost shrimp in a 20 gallon tank for the past year almost. I used white gravel since I was a beginner and absolutely loved it, but the look of sand appealed to me so much more. Plus, algae grew over a lot of the rocks gradually and it’s always been difficult for me to clean them, so recently the rocks have been looking quite filthy. Would sand be better for me with that situation? Anyway, my main goal was to decide which I wanted to go for this time since I’m more experienced. I’d love to have (depending on the size of my possible new tank) a centerpiece dwarf gourami with a school of neon tetras and anything else that could work with those but wouldn’t overpopulate my tank. Oh another reason I’d love sand is because I’ve wanted Khuli Loaches ever since I started this hobby. Should I go for sand or stay with gravel? Anybody have any experience with that? Thank you very much in advance! -Caroline (side note: of course my dwarf gourami with neon tetras plan could very well change depending on the size of the tank, I have absolutely no idea. I’m not even sure if Khuli loaches get along with those kinds of fish, but I will do more research on it if I actually get the tank.)

Platylover

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
It does sound like sand would be best for you. Kuhlis do best on sand so they can sift through it and not get scratched by the gravel. Sand is also less likely to grow algae IME.

Caroline J

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Platylover said:
It does sound like sand would be best for you. Kuhlis do best on sand so they can sift through it and not get scratched by the gravel. Sand is also less likely to grow algae IME.