Sand Substrate and live plants? Question

Discussion in 'Freshwater Substrates - Gravel, Sand' started by Huicho, Apr 14, 2010.

1. HuichoNew MemberMember

Hi fellow FLers! I'm new to this site and thought I'd give it a go.

I've found all of your threads to be very beneficial. So far, I've learned that pool filter sand is quite the substitute for the the expensive stuff at LFS, and will be contacting my local pool supplier today. I have a 60gal tank with about 9 African Cichlids (Zebras, Electrics, and Peacocks) I've been running for 2 years (Cichlids for about 4 months).

I currently use gravel and have a few live plants in there (Onion, lily, Italian Val). I know Cichlids are notorious for picking at live plants (no exception here) but have found that generally my plants do OK and give my tank a more organic feel.

Onto my question: From the threads I've read so far, I haven't really heard anyone talk about using live plants in a sand substrate, particularly the Pool Filter Sand? Can anyone lend a hand to a newbie (to FL.com) like me? Much appreciated.

2. funkman262Well Known MemberMember

My plants seem to be doing great with flourite black sand. I don't have any experience with PFS though.

EDIT: Oh yea...and Welcome to FL ;D

Last edited: Apr 14, 2010
  3. NutterFishlore VIPMember

I avoid plants in a sand substrate. I don't think of Flourite or Eco-Complete as sand as they need to be treated differently to how proper sand does.