Saltwater Tank - Forgot Conditioner!

"That person"

Valued Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am a complete newbie here. After I cleaned my saltwater tank and filled it back up I was so focused on getting the salinity right I completely forgot about the water conditioner!
The two fish were only in there maybe 10 minutes before I realized it. Do you think they will be okay?

Gypsy13

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
You added the conditioner once you realized it right? The shock will depend on how much water you removed and replaced. They should be ok. Think positive and we all do something “duh” like occasionally.

OP
"That person"

"That person"

Valued Member
Reaction score
I will. Currently Barney my clownfish seems normal but Zippy my zebra dartfish is laying on the bottom gasping but he's always been very sensitive to stress.

Jesterrace

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Oh yah. I added it Immediately after I realized it! And I may have.... Did a like 80% water change......
80% should never be done in a saltwater tank unless you have some kind of crazy tank emergency where it is the absolute last resort. 20-30% weekly is a good rule of thumb. As for conditioner, are you using tapwater? Not the best idea in the long run.

OP
"That person"

"That person"

Valued Member
Reaction score
So this morning Barney (clownfish) didn't eat but other than that he seems fine. Although I rearranged stuff so I don't know if he's just not comfortable yet. And I don't know how Zippy is. The best I got is he went and hid in a cave. If I see him I'll let you know

Edit: Both my snails are fine as well. They don't seemed bothered. At first they didn't come out of their she'll but as soon as a dosed it they came out and are fine.

OP
"That person"

"That person"

Valued Member
Reaction score
Are you in the US?
Yes I am. And Thanks for that. I did look before and earlier today actually and I couldn't find anything under $100-$150.