Saltwater converting Question

1. jdmLuzon Member Member

i have never tried saltwater and i finally have the courage. i have a 10 gallon fresh water tank and i want to conert it to saltwater.
    MY QUESTIONS ARE:
    - can i use the same HOB filter?
    - can i use the same gravel or is sand better?
    - do i need a air pump or should i use a piwer head?

PLEASE ANSWER..I WOULD APPRECIATE IT.

Sent from my LG-MS770 using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum mobile app

2. ssaul989 Initiate Member

Hi, I just made the same jump. I am by no means an expert, but here is what I did.
    -I used the same HOB filter, but I made sure to use a new cartridge and pre-filter. I believe the bacteria responsible for the nitrogen cycle are different in SW vs FW. So same filter, new media.
    -I also changed from my FW gravel to Caribsea argonite, I just felt the sand look was more appropriate for the SW tank. I also upgraded my FW tank from the 37, that became my SW tank, to a 125 and used the gravel from the first tank to help seed the new FW tank's cycling.
    -I think you would need an additional powerhead (or more depending on the tank size) to help with currents. I added one 600 g/hr circulator for my 37 tank.

Hope that helps. I am also interested in other's answers as I am still learning myself.

My new SW tank is up and running for about 60 hours now. No fish yet, still cycling.

3. jdmLuzon Member Member

this is a big help thank you so much..i just need to get a new media and i am thinking about using sand as well. this is my first time so im kinda effi about it doing this but ill give it a shot. thank you.

4. jdmLuzon Member Member

also how long did you cycle it?

5. ssaul989 Initiate Member

Well, I'll let you know when it's done. I just started so I am still looking for an ammonie spike.
    If you don't already have it, get yourself a test kit that has tests for ammonia, nitrite and nitrate.