Salt Gone Fresh 130g High Tech Planted Build

Ewest

Hi all, thanks for checking out my build. This build is about setting up my first truly large tank and about coming back into fresh water after a few years in salt. I plan to use 3D printing where possible in this build since I run a small 3D printing business and have a passion for that. I also plan to use some tricks I learned in salt water.

Some background: I used to be an active member here years back and then jumped over to salt water. I had a 20g nano reef through college. I graduated 2 years back and recently purchased my first house. Finally having the space to expand I wanted to get up over the 100 gallon mark but I was ready for a change again and wanted to get back to freshwater. Ive been making some posts lately gathering info and its finally time to start the build. Finances dictated that I would need to find a used tank to get over 100 gallons.

Onto my first build update: I had a personal connection come through on a used 130g tank and stand. Only problem was that it was a drilled reef ready tank with dual over flows. The tank and stand together was $400 and within an hour of my house. The stand was very nice and just needed cosmetic work. I decided I would take it and would either run a sump or convert the tank from a reef ready tank back into something more traditional (more salt gone fresh going on here lol). Here is the tank for the first time on the stand in my house:

20210418_202921.jpg

I ended up deciding to go ahead and covert it over to a more traditional tank, mostly because I want this set up as a peninsula tank and its only 18" wide, so I wanted the most width out of it as possible. This means removing the over flows and blocking off the drilled holes (maybe, I may still use those, stay tuned). First was cutting away the plastic as much as possible:

20210418_202915.jpg

20210418_202910.jpg

20210418_203806.jpg