Sa Cichlid For Tank

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by Nailroth, Apr 10, 2017.

1. N

Nailroth New Member Member

Hey, I have a roughly 60 gallon tank. messurements are around a standard 55 gal tank, not as tall but far wider.
    Currently it is stocked but i'm looking for a change for it. I have a smaller tank sitting empty that ill move current stock into if i the new fish won't fit the current stock.

I'm looking for a fish that reaches a average size of around 6-9"

I have looked at Andinoacara pulcher. But the information about their size is all over the place from 3-9" And as i have no personal experience with this fish i don't know the average size of them.

I only have personal experience with Pterophyllum scalare and Cleithacara maronii.
    Pterophyllum scalare
    in my opinion need a taller tank then i have. I feel 24-25" is minimum height for a tank for these beauties.
    Cleithacara maronii I think is a bit to small. maximum size of 6" but i have not seen one bigger then my current massive male at 4" the ones i have kept in the past have had an average of 3.5" for males and 2.5-3" for females.

These messurements are not exact as i have just done some translation from cm in my head

2. Ed204

Ed204 Well Known Member Member

Hi there,
    I'm not going to refer to the fish with their scientific names because that's going to take forever.

I believe that the Blue Acara reaches generally 7-9 inches making it a good option for your tank. Because it's the right sized fish you're looking for and it's quite colorful.

As for angelfish the most minimum I would keep them in is a 20 inch tall tank. Which means that a 24 inch would work great for these fish.

Keyhole Cichlids are one of the most docile Cichlids out there. They make a good addition to a SA community.
    They reach 6 inches in general.

Do you have any other fish in mind?

3. OP
    OP
    N