Rotala Substrate

FancyGoldfish

I am trying to grow rotala in my aquarium but, I am new to growing plants in aquariums. What substrate should I use for my rotala to grow well and what are some necessary supplies to grow rotala successfully? I don’t have a co2 diffuser, will it be needed?

Thanks.

Zigi Zig

there is many types of Rotala plants however most of will need substrate that contains major and minor trace elements to nourish aquarium plants for example CaribSea-Eco-Complete. Rotala plants prefers good water quality with pH of 6.0-7.5, hardness of 3-8 dGH and temperature should be between 72 and 82° F. It is a relatively undemanding aquarium plant and in conditions of high light and nutrients with CO2 supplementation, it grows quickly and spreads across the surface of the water. For optimum growth lighting should be 3 to 5 watts per gallon provided by full spectrum (5000-7000K) bulbs. If you new to aquatic plants chose easy plants for beginner aquarium plants like Java Fern, Java Moss, Amazon Sword, Anubias Nana or Java Fern is very popular since it is low maintenance and very beautiful. It can be used in just about any area of the aquarium but still some of those plants will required moderate lights and good fertilizer..

Jocelyn Adelman

So, there are many types of rotala, from rotundifolia to Wallachii.... all have very different requirements... can you post a picture or give the exact name for the species so we can help more? The info posted above only applies to some types of rotala.

As for eco complete, it does NOT contain nutrients, but is a high CEC substrate, meaning it can capture spare nutrients from the water column and release when needed to the roots. It is important to know that you do need root tabs with eco complete.