Roseline Shark / Red Line Torpedo Barb Behaviour 90 Gallon Tank 

Polaris

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello Everyone,

I have 5 Roseline Sharks (or as some call them, Red Line Torpedo Barbs) - all approximately 2.25" in length. They are normally very placid, schooling together, and sometimes schooling with my 5 Rummynosed Tetras, which really looks cool, but this morning when I woke up and went to feed the tank, 2 of them were chasing each other all over the tank. It wasn't just one chasing the other, they took turns chasing each other, quite aggressively I might add. The episode lasted about 10 minutes, then the tank went placid again.

This is the first time I've noticed this behaviour and was wondering if this is some type of mating behaviour, or is this something I should worry about. I should add that I'm relatively new at fish keeping, since Feb/10.... so I apologize if this seems like a lame question....but as these fish are the most expensive in my tank, I don't want to risk losing them.

I look forward to hearing from those more experienced than I!

Jaysee

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Yeah, they are expensive fish alright. If they are anything like other barbs, sounds like it could have been a battle for dominance. Since your fish are still small, it could also have to do with them reaching sexual maturity. Do you know how to sex them?

These are not a species of barb I've kept, but perhaps adding a few more might help as well. I would learn to sex them first so you can balance out your school. I know for the species I have kept, a close to even m/f split (with an extra female or 2) has worked very well.

Polaris

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi Jaysee,